Shire seeks five new faces

By Geoff Vivian | posted on August 10, 2017

DENMARK Shire will now be looking for five new councillors at the October local government elections following the decision this week of Cr Yasmin Bartlett to resign mid-term.

Cr Bartlett’s resignation is effective from October 20, the day before election day, saving the Shire the cost of a separate extraordinary election.

Cr Bartlett said she was resigning for work and personal reasons.

“It has been a wonderful experience to serve the community as a councillor over the past two years and I will miss working with my fellow councillors and the dedicated employees at the Shire,” she said.

“The decision to resign mid-term was not an easy one, but one that best reflects my personal circumstances.”

She is the fifth councillor to resign since her election to represent Scotsdale/Shadforth ward in October 2015.

Shire chief executive officer Bill Parker thanked Cr Bartlett for her contribution.

“Since her election to council in 2015, Cr Bartlett has worked tirelessly and represented the community on a broad range of committees and working groups,” he said.

“Yasmin was a strong advocate for improving compliance across the integrated planning and reporting framework and was central to council’s decision to dedicate significant resources in this area.

“I wish Yasmin the very best with her future endeavours and thank her for her service to the community.”

Cr Bartlett has served council’s Seniors Advisory Committee, Denmark Tidy Towns Committee and the Great Southern Recreation Advisory Group.

The 2017 local government elections will be held on Saturday October 21 to fill five vacancies across the Kent/Nornalup, Scotsdale/Shadforth and Town wards.

Nominations open on September 7 and interested community members may obtain the ‘Thinking of Becoming a Councillor’ information pack on the Shire’s website.