All nominees elected

By Grace Jones | posted on October 3, 2019

THE Shire of Jerramungup sailed through its recent local government election with all nominees elected unopposed.

This year the Shire was faced with filling four positions with terms of four years each.

Shire president Robert Lester and councillors Rex Parsons and Andrew Price all had terms that were up for expiry this year and nominated to continue serving on Council.

Newcomer Drew Dawson nominated for the fourth position.

Mr Dawson is a Bremer Bay resident after moving there in 2009 and said while he wasn’t working he was involved in sporting clubs and volunteering for St John Ambulance.

Cr Parsons has been a councillor with the Shire for the past eight years and said he believes in equality across the Shire.

Cr Price had been a councillor for two years before being re-elected and said he was looking forward to improving the idea that the Shire was a great place to live.

President Lester said he was strongly committed to assisting Council in updating facilities and infrastructure across the shire.

The four councillors will be officially sworn in on November 20.